Georgia Divorce Records Online
Georgia State was named
after King George II of Great Britain and was the fourth state to ratify the United States Constitution on January 2, 1788. It is located in the southeastern part of United States and Atlanta is its capital of the state. Georgia is known as the Peach State and the Empire State of the South. According to the United States Census Bureau, the Dekalb County Court Records
population of Georgia was 9,815,210 in the year 2011. The state is bordered on the south by Florida, on the east by the Atlantic Ocean and South Carolina, Alabama on the West and on the north by Tennessee and North Carolina. Georgia government provides accurate records and data concerning vital records including Georgia Divorce Records.
Atlanta, which is located in northern central Georgia at the Eastern Continental Divide, has been the capital city of Georgia since 1868. It is the most populous city with just over 420 residents in 2010. Georgia is the only state with Sole Commissioner Government counties and its constitution provides all counties and cities with home rule authority and so the county commissions have considerable power to pass legislation within their county as a municipality would. Georgia State is based on the separation of legislative, executive and judicial power. Georgia consists of 159 counties and counties in Georgia have their own elected legislative branch, usually called the Board of Commissioners, which usually also has executive authority in the country.
The State Vital Records office conducts a search to verify the occurrence of a divorce, but cannot issue a record. State office is open during weekdays from 8:00 am until 4:30pm. Certified copies of divorce decrees are only available from the Clerk of the Superior Court in the country where the divorce was granted. Requester must provide the following information such as the full name of the husband and wife, date of divorce, place of divorce, the number of copies requested, signed request and the appropriate fee.
The State law of Georgia requires payment to be received before a record or a service can be provided. Advance payment of the fee is necessary at the time the service is requested and it is important to note that fees are not refundable. A $10.00 fee will be charge that includes a search and confirmation of divorce event. For a multi-year search it costs $10.00. Fees may be paid through certified check or money order, sending cash in the mail is prohibited.
Divorces are filed in Superior Court and may take one month or more or years to be granted, depending on the complexity of the case. To file a divorce, the husband or the wife must write a complaint or petition that describes your current living situation, custody arrangements, state of the shared assets and debts and the specific problems that led you to file for a divorce. The courts favor the best interest of the children and so the parent who uses the best judgment in caring and planning for the children wins legal custody. Also the court may grant joint legal custody and joint physical custody.
In order to obtain a copy of Divorce Decrees, the requester must write or go to the Vital Statistics Office in the state or area where the event occurred.